Easter Fun!

Standard

There is something that is just magical about Easter.  Maybe it is because all things seem to come alive, including my children.  I have always loved hosting holidays or other events, however….Easter was always special.  Something about having all the family together.  Attending church in our cute spring like outfits and eating all the delicious food.  Not to mention, Peter Cotton Tail hiding all the eggs and visiting us on Easter morning.  It just seems like there is a new-born happiness in the air. 

Coloring easter eggs has always been a tradition since I was a little girl.  Every year I always seem to buy egg coloring kits and they never seem to work as well as they advertise.  So….some hints:

Start saving bottle caps.  Use these as stands for your easter eggs. 

The best cooked egg-Add your eggs to a sauce pan.  Fill with cold water until the egg is covered.  Bring water to a boil, turn temp down to a simmer for 13 minutes for a hard-boiled egg.  Remove with a tongs and place back in an egg carton for cooling.

Just use food coloring.  Add them to some vinegar and dip your eggs.  They even have food coloring tablets now you can just drop in vinegar. 

Normally, I would always want my eggs to be totally cooled before coloring.  However, I found this new technic I want to use this year on FamilyFun.com.  Take a hard-boiled egg right out of the warm water (adult should do this) place on a stand and take some crayons and color the egg.  The wax will melt.  For extra texture, use some crayon shavings and sprinkle on the egg. For more tips on this go to  http://familyfun.go.com/easter/easter-crafts/all-easter-crafts/melted-crayon-eggs-1002021/.

Now this is a Peter Cotton Tail friendly snack that my boys will just love!  You can get these plant pots at Michael’s or Wal-Mart for a dollar or less.  I would suggest putting a cut cucumber in the bottom of the pot.  This way when you fill it up with dip, you will have no drippings.  Place some carrots on top, or celery.

Now, who doesn’t want to stuff their checks like Mr. Peter Cotton Tail on Easter morning.  Try these with the kids.  You can have the cupcakes already done and just waiting to be “faced” by the kids.  http://familyfun.go.com/recipes/easter-bunny-cupcakes-685427/

When hiding your kids easter baskets, leave them a trail of jelly beans or their favorite candy that leads them to their basket.  Or maybe you want to string them to it through a maze of yarn.  One end on their hand when they wake up and the other end tied to the basket. However, make sure you entangle it throughout the whole house using the WHOLE ball of yarn:)  HEHE!  I can’t wait to do this to my boys when they are older, I may however just have to do it to my hubby! Or maybe you give them a Peter Cotton Tail map that leads them to their treasure.  Whatever you decide to do, enjoy it.  Enjoy your families, and remember to remember god.

About katiekroll3

Hello there! I Am Katie or aka Mommy, Ma, or Mom. I have three handsome young boys, Cayden is 4, Caleb is 2.5, and Camden(Cam) is 10 months. I am married to my best friend Casey. We just traveled a crossed country from WI to NY in the past four months. WOW! What a change and trying experiences that has been. But, through all the stress and changes comes life lessons. I have learned more about motherhood, myself, and the courage/strength I never knew I had. I have the ability to make it through each day as a stay at home mother with no outside help from family and friends. I have the strength to cry at those moments I want hide my face in a pillow. I have the courage to find myself "Katie', outside of being the most important person I will ever be in my life, "mommy". Moving out here to the North Country has brought new friends to my life and new adventures. Besides being a stay at home mom, I attend Herzing University Online. I have less than I year left until I receive a Bachelors in Business Administration with an emphasis in Human Resources. I am not only proud of this accomplishment for myself, but also for my family. I want them to always know that education is so important. Outside of being Mommy, I enjoy walks, being with friends, watching reality TV, reading novels, helping others, traveling, and being with my husband.

3 responses »

  1. Love it! My Grandma does the yarn through her whole house for all of us cousins. She uses different color string for every person. It’s really fun! I love Easter too, it’s my Fav!

Leave a comment